Grand Cochin

I really wanted to blog about this Hotel. It is Grand in its name, in its lavish Interiors and a must visit hotel for all the tourists. Its is one of the best serving hotels in Kochi. It is located in the heart of Ernakulam and Kochi on the Mahatma Gandhi Road. Β It is a well-known a grand place for its wide-spread menu.

Menu contains Continental, Oriental cuisines along with the regional cuisine. North Indian south Indian, all famous food is available. Most of the delicacies are their sea foods. As a vegetarian i did not choose them and i wanted to taste their Kerala regional Oonu ( meal). I chose to be more regional as part of my local authentic exploration.

It is just a 1.2 kms from the Ernakulam South Railway station. Hence we pay 20 bucks to reach here.

It is Classic in exteriors, glittering interiors. A wide hall and the crowd loom quite posh.

I ended up ordering Veg lunch in Kerala style.

grnd 4

Papad, Sambar is the one i die for in Kerala lunch. I literally binged on sambar. A lot of Hing is added to give the taste and flavor which makes anyone feel hungry and crave for it.

grnd1

Their Coconut Oil based Curries, Erriserry, will be tasteful and flavorful.

The best thing and the reason of writing this blog is their plain Coconut Chutney with very mild number of green chilies with garlic is served with along with normal pickle with every thing one orders in the menu. A basket of Papads and the Pickle with coconut chutney is served. As a part of my exploration, i called the manager asked why is the coconut chutney served which is not usual.

grnd2

His answer did not help me much though and then out of curiosity started observing the diners. For every this dish they eat, they try to add coconut to enjoy the flavor in everything they eat. I was a little reluctant at first but later i tried with sambar. It gave me an extra dose and taste of coconut. and it was just awesome. I just loved the way coconut is being used there like a pickle. Just Superb.

Then came my payasam, which i generally eat with papad.. it was heavenly..

grnd 3

 

Overall Β it is a best experience to be here and taste the food. Coconut pickle especially.

As a Bangalorean paying 250/- per meal i do not mind, but as far as my knowledge, Kochi’s a very reasonable place, hence it is over priced for the place.

Service and ambiance are ok.. Staff is a little rude.

food is just awesome.

Interiors are lavish

Grand Hotel Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

View my food journey on Zomato!

View my food journey on Zomato!

Follow me on Blogarama

Follow me on Blogarama

Follow me on Blogarama

Leave a Reply

